You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
freddiebox

My few cents on World of Warships - New player constructive criticism

78 comments in this topic

Players
11 posts
332 battles

As a disclaimer, I want to point out that I'm a veteran when it comes to Wargaming after playing all their titles for an extensive amount of time. And do take this as constructive criticism from a fresh perspective. I'm well familiar with the toxic Wargaming community and such comments will be ignored and reported accordingly.

I moved to World of Warships a few weeks ago after squeezing everything I could from World of Tanks. Let's say that I caught a lot of Wargaming's attitude when it comes to implementing certain classes and features often perceived as punishing and borderline destructive for casual players trying to learn the ropes. In World of Tanks the issue is "clickers", or as Wargaming call them artillery players. The term clicker comes from the only requirement put on artillery players, aim and click. In World of Warships they implemented a similar feature making both veterans and new players rip their hair out to the roots. Facing this have led to more than one broken keyboard, not literally mind you. The primary issue is torpedoes. What a surprise, right? I don't have anything against the idea of torpedoes per se as they did utilize them to an effective level in the war. But at the quantity players use torpedoes in World of Warships? And the fast reload for torpedoes make a bad situation worse, especially at low to mid tier. A division of destroyers, or cruisers can literally blind fire volleys of torpedoes to the center of the map and get ridiculous results. They then wait a couple of seconds or minutes and repeat the same process before the slow moving battleships have a chance to react.