Sark74

78 AP strikes... 10k damage .. seems low?

22 comments in this topic

Players
180 posts
3,693 battles

Hey everyone.. 

I've been playing a week now.. still having fun, got a few boats up to tier 3-4 while i try new things etc, getting rather decent at using islands as cover etc.. last match was Cruiser and Battleship heavy, i landed 78 AP shells on CA's and BB's and only scored 10k damage, my Ship is the USN Cruiser Phoenix, That's 137 damage per shell... it took me ages to strip 9,000 HP from a Battleship as you can imagine.. where 2 hits took 1/3rd off me.. 

again , thanks for any constructive replies :) 

Cheers

78hits.JPG

[SICK]
Weekend Tester
4,733 posts
9,234 battles

First of all, did you play the tutorial?
If yes, does it talk about ammo choice? That's more for my own curiosity, as there was none when I started playing.

Alright, now that that's out of the way, AP in this game is not that simple. Armor values are enormous and your guns can be very modest in terms of penetration. Angle also plays a large role, a shells can very easily ricochet.

What you need to do is go in the options, in the control tab and click "detailed ribbons"
That allows you to see what's happening to your shells when they hit. In your case, I'm more than willing to bet that there were plenty of shells ricocheting or shattering on battleships.
If that's the case, switch to hight explosive shells.

Cruisers, and especially light cruisers, make large use of HE shells. Those can fail to do damage if you hit zones too armored as well, but have a chance to cause fires.

The best thing I can suggest is to go check the game guides for in-depth guides on ammunition.

Here is a good start:

• Cool 3

Players
5,207 posts
8,075 battles