Sign in to follow this  
Captain_LOZFFVII

Shimakaze HELP!

12 comments in this topic

Players
1,352 posts
3,583 battles

Hello everyone.

I have been playing since October 2016 and one of my first major 'target' ships in the game was the Shimakaze, alongside HMS Minotaur and USS Gearing.

Well, it's been a long time coming, but I finally have her in my port.

I've taken her out for a few battles and...

Well, hopefully you guys will be able to tell from my stats in Shimakaze - I would upload replays, but I'm currently at work, so I don't have access to my home PC.

I'm at a loss, I'm finding it so difficult to enjoy playing in her - the speed is amazing, but the torpedoes always seem to miss and when you have to wait 2+min for them to reload it's an absolute frustration.

So, I'm wondering what kind of set-up other players have for their Shimakaze and her captain?

I've FXPed past the only-good-for-a-meme 20km torps, and am running the 12km Mod3.

I prefer to use both Priority Target and Preventitive Maintenance as 1-point skills, it's just too useful to know exactly how many ships are aiming for me, so I know when to smoke up and bug out.

I am debating between running Torpedo Acceleration or some other 2-point captain skill like Adrenaline Rush, just to reduce the wait for my torpedoes. Obviously, I'm running Last Stand.

3-pointers I'm using Survivabiltiy Expert, Torpedo Armament Expertise and I'm debating between Superintendent or Basic Firing Training, so either more consumable charges or more 'f*ck off Mr CV'.

Obviously Concealment Expert is my go-to 4-pointer. I am aware of the utility of RPF, but I can't equip it without dropping something else that is vital to my personal comfort.

(If anyone has any recommendations for captain skills, please bare in mind I don't remember what most skills are called - the ones above I've guessed at mainly - thus abbreviating them to 'BFT' or 'CE' won't help me personally although I DO know BFT and CE, obviously)