Geophage

Akatsuki Good Enough?

8 comments in this topic

Players
2 posts
258 battles

I recently created an account on the EU server.  I like IJN DDs, and that's pretty much all I've played here.

I have little experience with the Akatsuki, it wasn't around when I was grinding the line on NA, so I have questions.

I like the Fubuki.  I do pretty good in it.  I play it as a pure torp boat and don't use the guns unless it's safe to do so.

Can the Akatsuki be played this way successfully?  Does the 400m worse detection range make a real difference? 

Thanks for reading.

[POI--]
Players
3,185 posts
4,331 battles

The 400 metres make a difference, especially, as the Akatsuki will run into more higher tier DDs that have concealment mod and thus are way more stealthy. especially other IJN DDs like Kagerou or Yuugumo, which beat your concealment by a mile (or well, more like 1 km). Fubuki can often count on being among the stealthier ships in a match, while an Akatsuki will often be easily detected.

Insofar, I found Akatsuki to play similar in that it is mainly a torpedo boat, but different, in that it has to be a bit more careful. Especially if you are not top tier. I typically rather play support then (thankfully we get 5 DD matches quite often these days), follow another, stealthier DD at some distance and help them gun down something if needed. If there are less DDs, that means you need to mind the worse detection range less and can be more free to spam torpedos at enemy ships, for which the 3x3 set up on Akatsuki is just as lovely as it was on the Fubuki.