Torped1ne

0.6.9 on linux

7 comments in this topic

[IRN]
Players
309 posts
12,029 battles

Here we are this patch is out and as expected the wine setup that we used do not work anymore, im not an expert so i hope on someone else knowledge so i've created this topic to share our attemps 

Right now i have try with the last staging version of wine 2.13 and it run until login screen for crash one second after the log in

[F_N_E]
Players
31 posts
18,505 battles

I experienced this issue with the recent public test and now with the regular client as well. I read about a switch to DirectX11 from this patch on, only Intel GFX users are said to have DirectX9 in use. So if there's a way to switch back, this could temporarily repair the issue for Wine/Linux users.

Beta Tester
26 posts

No joy unfortunately, crashes with an unhandled exception upon trying to enter port. Tried various wine versions (32 and 64bit) various graphical settings (including dx11/dx9) :(

Was eyeing up various premiums last night as well, glad I didn't buy them now. Had it running perfectly yesterday, now they patch and break everything.

Players
9 posts
2,554 battles

I have a potential resolution for you guys using Wine, this has been discussed on Wine HQ so I take no credit for this.

It looks like the game is looking for a ProgramData folder using the PROGRAMDATA environment variable which does not exist in Wine, really Wargaming should be adding checks for Null pointers.

Anyway, how I have done it to resolve on my system.

Open the prefix you have created your WOWS install and under what is the C: drive add a ProgramData folder.

Open wine regedit and under HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Environment add a veriable called PROGRAMDATA pointing to the C:\ProgramData folder you previously created.

Run game, play and enjoy!

• Cool 3

Players
9 posts
4,555 battles
2 hours ago, Rebus01 said:

I have a potential resolution for you guys using Wine, this has been discussed on Wine HQ so I take no credit for this.