ErnstHienkel

help getting back into it

6 comments in this topic

Players
2 posts
14 battles

hey everyone so im fairly new to this. played a little in beta and forgot about it have come back and i really want to enjoy the game but going above teir 2 is just pure pain.

i have from beta the t4 american BB and CL wyoming and pheonix and i am just unable to have fun playing them for 2 different reasons. when i am in the pheonix i just cant find any way to be useful, if i sit back and plink away at max range while dodging shells i find i do little to no damage to anything i can hit and i cant hit anything i can damage, if i try to close into the mid range to deal with destroyers i get rekt by BBs and sniping CAs all it takes is one hit from a BB or 2-3 hits from an avg CA/CL and im completely crippled, i just cant find any opportunities to close to use the torps. how can i make this ship valuable to the team?

now if im in the wyoming i find i can pretty generally hit enemy BBs and do 1 penetrating hit every 2 salvoes, (not sure how to improve gunnery here my shells land all around the enemy ships so im ranging and predicting ok i tink) my experience is that using HE is pointless as hitting 2 shells and dealing 2900 damage is not comparable to hitting 1 and doing 10k the reason i dont enjoy it is i get torped by bombers in every bloody match and i cannot find any way to counter them. ive tried evasive maneuvers whenever there are torp bombers within 5km of me but it makes no difference in almost every match i get torped from one angle turn into it but unable to avoid at least 2 of them and then before my rudder has corrected i eat another 3 from my previous heading. i just dont know how to avoid them / deal with them, my AA is effectively useless and even staying near allies i get rekt by planes consistently