Sign in to follow this  
MrConway

Introductory Mission

7 comments in this topic

[WG-EU]
WG Staff
2,131 posts
2,239 battles

Please leave your feedback regarding the introductory mission here.

[PORT]
Modder
1,492 posts
10,987 battles

Is the introduction-mission available only for new accounts?

Edit: Of course it is. Yes, it's nice for absolute beginners.

Edited by Smeggo

Players
744 posts
7,393 battles

a few thoughts on the introductory mission and first login:

1) on first logging in welcome the new player and invite him/her to basic training or jumping right in with the introductory mission.

2) Set introductory mission as initial default in battle type button on first time log in.

3) Assume the new player has not modified their commands and advise on which key does things when giving in game text coaching. ie R stops fire, 1 = HE rounds etc ... text does say W to speed up but not how to slow or turn ... and new player will be overwhelmed first few times playing. ease player into game will make them feel better about their performance.

4) Advise which shells to engage DDs, CLs and BBs with. and how to select it

5) Training ship needs to take some damage say at 5%/10% normal damage otherwise new player will get fairly bizarre impression of a hashidate/erie's armour!

6) A small reward in xp/creds for completing the mission ... ie 100xp/1000crds - apply to whichever ship they completed mission in ... to establish the concept of earning through in game performance.

7) script for the cap area B cruisers and BB maneuvering quite short. new players will not kill these ships fast so some extra time really needs to be allocated to the cruisers/BB sailing about in the open sea area

8) if a citadel is achieved - pop a text box to explain what it is and how great the results are

9) when BB goes on fire pop a box to explain fire damages

notes:

thought the very green bow wave was nice

map was pretty