Sign in to follow this  
AntHill_M0b

Why Play US CV's?

13 comments in this topic

[HMSR]
Players
1 post
12,531 battles

Hey i started playing CV recently and i am aware that US fighters are stronger than IJN however this does not seem to compensate for an extra Advantage of more speed/Squadrons IJN get.

Better speed on IJN makes sense and is huge advantage to avoid Torps/detection but should the speed difference really be this large at lower tiers:

10 knts at T4

11.5 knts at T5

Langley                                                    Hosho  

Hp 33700                                                 Hp 31800

2 Squadrons ( 1 Torp  / 1 Fighter)           3 Squadrons  (2 Torp / 1 Fighter)

15 knts                                                     25 knts

Extra Squadons on all IJN CV's at all Tiers compared to US.

At T5 is similar as above the Bogue seems very under-powered to the Zuiho.

Is this as Intended?

Please leave feedback.

Players
29 posts
1,168 battles

US CV's have 6 planes per squadron and IJN has 4 planes per squadron. T4 and T8 CV's are balanced as they have both their advantages and cons, but T5-T7 IJN CV's are much better because IJN has more planes and better loadout unless the US CV goes into a air superiority setup which is mediocre at best since you can't do much damage to ships with US air superiority. However the US T9 and 10 Essex and Midway are good to borderline OP but you will have to suffer through the earlier tiers to get them.

Edited by Vadon90

Players
194 posts
2,055 battles