Sign in to follow this  
goodman528

Is Tirpitz the Type 59 of WOWS?

156 members have voted

1. 1. Is Tirpitz the type 59 of warships?

• Yes
    • No

41 comments in this topic

[GULIK]
Beta Tester
216 posts

I started playing world of tanks back around patch 7.0 when type 59 was still on sale, but I was noob and didn't buy it. Now that I have spent quite a lot of money on the game and got multiple tier 10 tanks, I kind of regret not buying the type 59, because it is definitely the best tier 8 tank in the game and it is a premium.

Now, with warships, I have Atago which is not a good ship compared to other tier 8 cruisers. However, I think Tirpitz is an amazingly over powered ship on par with what type 59 was to world of tanks. I have not been able to citadel the Tirpitz with my North Carolina at any range, and I find the Tirpitz rudder shift time is certainly enough to 5km brawl with my Atago. Yes, I am just a noob with only 47k average damage per battle, however I get the feeling this ship is the most OP tier 8 premium there will ever be. Do you have a Tirpitz? What do you think?

• Cool 2

Weekend Tester
1,244 posts

Yes, the Tirpitz's citadel armor is great, but it does take a LOT of regular heavy hits. It's plagued by it's poor turret traverse angles which force it to expose it's side at a shallow angle to make full use of it's guns.

You don't need citadels when you hit for 30k with regular penetrating volleys.

• Cool 1

Alpha Tester
34 posts
3,405 battles

A ship is out for 5 days and people are already drawing conclusions.

It's really hard to really get a feel for the balance because the Tirpitz fights against other Tirpies.

Tier8 Battleships and Carriers are the sealclubbing ships of choice for the coming month though. 

Also this thread is just clickbait crap.

• Cool 1

Beta Tester
626 posts