Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Lantirn

Aim Assist

12 comments in this topic

[CG]
[CG]
Players
31 posts
2,935 battles

Hi gents.

I am new to BBs and I have noticed some things regarding aiming.

When 2 targets are close enough and you aim at the de-selected one (not with X), the shot goes off. While when aiming at the correct target selected (with X) the shot goes spot on, with the guns being at the same position. 

This happened by mistake at first, so I realized what's going on and from there on I always carefully select with X the correct target I intend to shoot. 

So shells are not just going on the pixel you aim, there is something else behind.

I suck at long range aiming since I played for long only DD's and the last days I noticed that I got some very good hits with Georgia almost 25km away and I was excited by my aiming to be honest with only those 6 shells, so I thought that must be something else and not me:Smile_veryhappy:

I have noticed the shells go somewhat to the target to assist you.

Is there something available to look at?

Does it affect dispersion or precision when you incorrectly aim near the target? 

• Cool 1

Players
315 posts
5,207 battles

range is aim assisted

especially approaching or retreating ships

accuracy would go down below 10% if it wasnt 

its for all ship classes not just BBs

dispersion is not affected by the autoaim shells will fly all over the place no matter who you have targeted as a BB

and there is no horizontal autoaim, only vertical 

[CATS]
Players
28,241 posts
14,929 battles
  • shots without target lock have a bigger dispersion
  • target lock makes the aim assist use the correct elevation for the guns, because at longer distances, when you aim in front of a ship, the spot you aim at is really a couple hundred meters behind the target and you would miss, auto aim corrects that
  • Cool 1

[SHAFT]
Players
11,126 posts
9,500 battles