You need to play a total of 1 battles to post in this section.
The_EURL_Guy

Naval History in Photos: Battle of Leyte Gulf

15 comments in this topic

Players
933 posts
1 minute ago, HansRoaming said:

Thanks for posting these up, the suicide run by the plane is haunting.

When I first saw it, I thought it was coming in to land on the carrier's deck; then I noticed the red circles on the wings. That was quite a jolt of realisation...

• Cool 2

Players
933 posts
13 minutes ago, ElScorpion said:

ΜMissuri in foto have 4 turrets - 12 guns 

WG historical accuracy ?? 

That's because it's the USS Mississippi.

Aerial view of the USS Mississippi (BB-41) at sea. The “Ole Miss,” as she is known, played a major part in seven Pacific campaigns. She also helped repel the southern Japanese force in the Surigao Straits during the Battle of Leyte Gulf.

Players
317 posts
17,522 battles

After I started playing wows I started read about battleships and South Caroliona ,Wyoming,New York/Texas,New Mexico,Colorado had 2x2 torpedos !!! , so why ships in game dont have it !?

WG Staff
1,871 posts
877 battles
On 10/17/2020 at 4:53 PM, Maris_Piper said:

Thank You WG very poignant images indeed.

You are welcome, Captain. Some of these pictures are really impressive, I am keeping going back at the article to capture more details from them. (As you probably know, if you want, you can check the U.S. Naval Institute website for more.)

Players
582 posts
3,787 battles

That's a very striking image of the Japanese aircraft making a suicide attack into the deck of the U.S. carrier. I watched an interview with some Japanese war vets and they disagreed with the western opinion of the Kamikaze attacks being pointless acts of suicides by brain washed fanatics. It was an interesting insight and their view on it actually made sense. To the Japanese, it was logically the more effective and sensible way to use these aircraft and pilots at the time.