You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Murqy

A buff for a balanced meta

43 comments in this topic

[H-M-S]
Players
34 posts
10,822 battles

Before I started playing this game I was spending a lot of time with Rainbow Six Siege. Not that I know how the meta is in that game this very day, but three years ago I was amazed how the developers really took time to balance the old operators after new ones were relised. The new ones were always strong and changed the meta, which put the old ones in the same state as many of the ships in Wows today (they became obsolete). This was compensated in different ways, and some operators had their main gadget reworked. Some guns (that no one were using) got buffed. Some operators had their flashbangs exchanged for grenades to make them stronger. Anything to make the operator relevant again and not leaving anything to be definitely a "no pick ".

My point is that noone really got left behind (few exceptions that created some nice memes) and there was always the ambition to at least try to create balance. This resulted in were unique lineups of operators for ranked matches were it came down to ingenuity to create a unique setup. Everything could be a good pick, if you knew how to implement it in a nice synergy with your teammates.

My experience with WG is that they are rather lazy and couldn't care less for old ships (that still has a lot to give and holds a lot of potential fun). These minor tweaks by simply buffing /nerfing gun reload time leaves a feeling of indifference. I still believe smaller changes can make a difference, but but they have to be smarter and not just based on spreadsheets.

In this thread I was hoping we as a community could help WG out, by putting some good ideas how out-dated ships could be freshened up to fit the current meta better.

For example, the German DD line struggles in the CV and 12 km radar meta. My suggestion would be to increase torpedo range.