Pishko98

How should I play DD's in the current meta?

13 comments in this topic

Players
3 posts
645 battles

Hello, captains!
I wouldn't say I'm a newcomer as I have played ever since beta but I never really got into the game that much, but my low number of battles makes me a complete newbie when it comes to the current meta. Here is the story, when I first started playing this game I tried a bunch of ships classes and I did like the IJN cruisers a lot. I managed to reach the Aoba but after that I kinda stopped playing as I got bored. Well recently I decided to join the game again and well, I wanted a fresh class to play. I was thinking what could be exciting and fun and of course DD's fit the whole description - fast, stealthy close range fighters that that are fragile, but can put up a good fight. Well I tried the german DD's and I got to tier 6 with the Gaede but I didn't enjoy them very much as they seem more like Light cruisers than actual DD's as they aren't as maneuverable as a typical destroyer and in terms of artillery some of them have those massive 150mm guns that certainly no other DD has from what I've seen. Well I wanted a "proper" destroyer (whatever that means) and I looked at a couple of videos from some contributors and almost all of them settled on one thing - the american DD line teaches you the most about proper destroyer tactics. Of course I started grinding, but as I reached the Farragut I hit a brick wall. Every game that I find myself in I feel shut down and I can't do any of the "proper" DD responsibilities - contesting caps, spotting and hunting down other destroyers. My main issue is mainly CV's. Every time I try to contest a cap I find myself hunted by an enemy CV player almost the entire game as my friendly CV racks up all the spotting rendering me completely useless. Of course if I try to avoid the enemy planes, I'm either way out in a place that noone needs me at, or I find myself in the blob of friendly cruisers to protect myself f