You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Chief_Bottle_Washer

Networks speeds, Server speeds and lag.

27 comments in this topic

Players
6 posts
810 battles

Good Evening all.

I'm a realtive noob to WoW, got a few weeks under my belt but am hitting occasional network issues, so I have some questions.

I couldn't see any network requirements anywhere.  Under normal circumstances we get 30M down and 10M up...   this seems to be plenty.

Occasionally, especially Friday evenings / weekends I'll get games that are unplayable due to horrific lag, essentially outages or many seconds repeatedly through a game (those games rarely last long)..   most of the time it's fine then one game will simply go bad on me, maybe 1/4 to 1/10 games during weekends.

So..   I live in a rural location, with a dozen houses on the end of a long fiber..   it could very well be us, but could this be server, and more crucially is there any way to tell before kicking off, say, a clan/navy game where you have limited games, whether or not you're going to get a game shredded due to lag.

thanks in advance

Chief_Bottle_Washer

[LSCA]
Players
1,143 posts
9,359 battles

41 minutes ago, Chief_Bottle_Washer said:

Good Evening all.

I'm a realtive noob to WoW, got a few weeks under my belt but am hitting occasional network issues, so I have some questions.

I couldn't see any network requirements anywhere.  Under normal circumstances we get 30M down and 10M up...   this seems to be plenty.

Occasionally, especially Friday evenings / weekends I'll get games that are unplayable due to horrific lag, essentially outages or many seconds repeatedly through a game (those games rarely last long)..   most of the time it's fine then one game will simply go bad on me, maybe 1/4 to 1/10 games during weekends.