optimal_909

Kii in 2020

21 comments in this topic

[-LD-]
Players
202 posts
8,173 battles

I am going through a purchase consideration and thought on asking recent experience on Kii. Now I know this ship is in general not recommended especially for the money, therefore I give a bit of background and thought process - with a TL;DR summary at the end. :)

So, here is the situation:

- Late 2018 when I started playing, I decided to drop about €20 every year in support of the WG's dev team, but given last year's blunders I didn't drop a dime towards WG the past year --> however, I still feel like it would be fair to give them ~€10-20 in exchange for a game that -blunders aside- I'm playing on a daily basis

- I have 6700 doubloons I won through various events/crate drops, and looking for ways to spend it

- I am a BB/IJN main and also a sucker for eccentric ships/builds/playstyles (my Nagato and Yamato are both secondary builds :), )

I have plenty of port slots I bought on the cheap at the end of 2018, also I don't feel like buying perma camo as in itself it doesn't bring fresh gameplay - I considered one for the Shima or Zao for T10 economy (have the Yamato already), but I just can't decide which one. Anyway, I'm not enjoying T10 too much these days and bought a Smolensk as a go-to-tool for ranked too.

Therefore, I am looking at a premium ship to spend my doubloons on with the option to to add €10 and also exchange RN tokens for doubloons, resulting in about 10k doubloons.

With that and 25% discount, most premium ships are within reach, and considering my preferences (IJN BBs), I came to the following verdicts:

- Mikasa: great ship, bought it for €10 and has a 10pt secondary commander :)

- Ishizuchi: looks efficient on paper, but doesn't offer too much flavour and bad AA in current T4 meta is just something I want to avoid --> No