Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Gnolfus

Help with American CA captain skills

29 comments in this topic

[CATCH]
Players
78 posts
3,119 battles

Hi.

I'm at the New Orleans, and I have a 7 point soon to be 10 point captain (got some +%commander xp flags). He is lagging behind so to speak because I did the mistake at the earlier tiers of making a new captain for every new ship, and I also went down the CL line and switched over the 10 point captain I had to Dallas because IFHE is so important for light cruisers.

From what I understand, the "standard" American CA build is PT>AR>SI>CE.

My idea was to go PT>EM>DM>CE, then pick up expert loader, superintendent and adrenaline rush afterwards in no particular order.

The reason for this is because I intend to stay at tier 7 for a while because I am fairly new to the game and it seems like a better tier to learn at than 8+, and EM+DM helps the whole match especially when you're not an expert at positioning, and may not always get to use the extra consumeable charge superintended gives... New Orleans also doesn't have radar or repair, so there's that. EM over AR is debatable and I am somewhat undecided. While AP is the strong suit of the USN CA's, you often find yourself firing HE at angled BBs and other cruisers, and a flat +2% fire chance is never bad.

I appreciate any input.

Players
10,117 posts
11,884 battles

Go-to captain for USN CA would be PT-EM-AR-SI-DE-CE with last four points to be spent at your leisure. Priority being securing CE as soon as possible, whether you go with EM-DE-CE or AR-SI-CE or whatever the combination is your decision.

Base turret traverse I find to be workable enough, so AR could be picked first. Demo vs SI is arguable until tier 9, where additional heal can prove invaluable. On other hand, effective gain on fire chance from Demo Expert against tier 10 is only 1%, you be the judge if thats worth three points.

[-RM-]
Beta Tester