Pivke

Returning player here, bring me up to speed.

22 comments in this topic

Beta Tester
542 posts
3,394 battles

Hi,

I used to play this game back in the days. Last time i have played it was 2+ years ago.

So, yesterday i got this bright idea to reinstall the game and play a few low tier matches. i quickly figured out i was a complete noob again. oh, and my aim is totally bonkers XD

(like i know the basics of how spotting works, and how to torp enemies and to not showing broadside too much... but otherwise you may treat me like a complete new player)

I noticed there are quite a few new ship lines. And i am looking for some advice on what line to start playing. Something to slowly bring me back the game basics as i progress up the tiers, preferably something noob proof? or perhaps a jack of all trades ship line not something thats too quirky. (i am mostly interested in cruiser or destroyer lines, i cant be arsed to play battleships snailing around at 20knots speed its just too boring)

p.s. also, whats up with low tier battles being totally infested with multiple aircraft carriers, dominating all other ships who have little to zero AA defences?

• Cool 1

[NEXT]
Players
33,126 posts
16,643 battles

Then start like a new player.

• Stay at lower Tier
  • Get to know all the classes
  • Start at least one line anew, better two

When you feel comfortable you can go to Tier VI/VII.

• Cool 2
  • Bad 2

Beta Tester
542 posts
3,394 battles

yes, but what line??

are italian good for new players, are french? or perhaps pan-asian?

Beta Tester, Players, In AlfaTesters
3,242 posts

Italian cruisers have a very high skill-floor, requiring you to be very opportunistic and selective in your targets, due to the ammo you have (SAP-shells don't overpen as easily, but can't set fires either), meaning you have to focus DD's and lightly armoured cruisers, and practically ignore BB's, since they are often too heavily armoured to reliably penetrate & do damage too.