You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
PaulPKennedy

Obsessive compulsive nerdy traits

13 comments in this topic

Players
9 posts
3,198 battles

Hi all,

Day off work today, so a couple of posts. I have been playing around a year. For the first few months just being a complete noob and grinding up the tech tree, making so many mistakes and then finally starting to appreciate the intricacies of the game. As I have progressed (not sure that’s the correct word in my case) I have started to develop nerdy traits. For instance post it notes around my pc with stuff like “watch out fore firestarter332 he kills you every time” and ship characteristics etc. I then got a mechanical keyboard and programmed the keys I use for a certain ship to light up in different colours. My friends call and make comments about the 30 or so post it notes and ask me how I am doing “shailing the sheven shees” So far I have resisted any type of naval uniform to wear in private. I hope I am not alone in my behaviour and would like to know if any of you do similarly things, or more?

• Cool 3
  • Funny 2

[CATS]
Players
20,491 posts
12,548 battles

I do nothing like that.

Sometimes I make a list of ships I want to play more.

• Cool 1

Players
967 posts
14,941 battles

Not me but my father became pretty nerdy after I introduced him to submarine simulators. The second flat TV at home was for his personal use in Silent Hunter 2: he ended up playing almost exclusively on the plotting screen so he put it horizontally on a table simulating a navigational chart and set his torpedo attacks with ruler, protractor and compass first, then confirming his calculations with the game's autoaim system.

I'm sure he'd have liked to play Cold Waters due to his love for Tom Clancy's works.

Salute.

• Cool 4

[HOO]
Beta Tester, Players, In AlfaTesters
2,832 posts