You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
optimal_909

Hearts of Iron IV - Naval Battles

2 comments in this topic

[-LD-]
Players
220 posts
8,499 battles

I recently started playing this game, and given I became a fan of IJN ships (BBs) playing WOWs, I simply had to play with Japan. The game has  a steep learning curve, but on the third attempt I started to get into grips with the basic mechanics.

Long story short, my strategy was to remain on good terms with the Soviets and the U.S. so that I can focus on conquering resource-rich Indonesia and SE Asia. Land battles were challenging, but obviously the naval warfare was not against entities such as the Dutch Indies - until the British started to engage, and sent major forces including BBs and Warspite herself. Losses happened on both sides, unfortunately I lost Fuso and Yamashiro. At one point they disengaged, I guess they had to return to the European theater.

The best battle I had actually happened yesterday, since the U.S. also joined the war, its task forces started to appear in the Pacific as well as they provide direct support in SE Asia. They have hit hard some of my Pacific patrol forces that consist cruisers and destroyers, however, yesterday two of my major task forces managed to intercept them.

Those included a number of dds and cruisers, of the major BBs Kongo, Kirishima, Ise, and given this is an alternate history, Amagi battlecruiser and a newer version of it, which was named by the game as Musashi.

Anyway, the US fleet boasted four battleships (including the Oklahoma, as Pearl Harbor never happened :) ), and a huge number of other ships, carries, cruisers and exactly 60 destroyers - so the battle didn't go well, I think I even lost a Mogami-class and my BBs started to disengage too.