Sign in to follow this  
Bindolaf_Werebane

Newbie's impressions, 6 months in

5 comments in this topic

Players
2 posts
1,316 battles

First, a couple of disclaimers.

A. I realize this is a free to play game. I demand nothing and expect nothing.

B. If you feel the need to post something along the lines of "git gud", don't. Remember, I'm a newbie.

On to my post.

As I stated in the title, I've been playing around 6 months. I started to play with  a friend - and because I like ships. I decided to read some guides, check out some videos (Flamu's among others) and take my time. I decided I'd get to tier V with all ships of three nations first, before moving on. Which I did. The game was new and fun. Getting to know each hull, the differences, how to shoot, how to stay concealed etc. You know the drill. Slowly, I crept up to Tier VI and - a few days ago - to VII. The game is not fun anymore. I thought about the reasons and I have concluded the following:

1. I am not very good (but we knew that already).

2. There is literally no place to play with other people who are not so good. I tested this hypothesis lately, by starting another nation and staying in Tiers 2 / 3. Invariably, someone, often a whole division, will swoop in and destroy the opposition, racking 4 - 6 kills each. One player. What you call a "seal clubber". In almost every game.

3. Maybe I was unlucky or imprudent with my picks, but I've noticed something of a trend. I play 2-3 great hulls, then hit a roadblock (as in a terrible one). Some examples:

i. The Fubuki halted my enjoyment of torpedo boats abruptly. I had to use Free Experience to upgrade its tubes.

ii. I played the US Cruiser line, which was a mistake. I made it to the Omaha, sold it and never looked back. (Resist your temptation and read point B above)!