Sign in to follow this  
natswright

My first premium ship, Graf Spee

16 comments in this topic

[WITCH]
Players
139 posts
4,388 battles

I'm quite new to the game and was looking for a few tips using the Graf Spee. Its a tricky ship to learn and as it has Torpedos, I find myself using it like a big destroyer, with me usually getting blown up! Destroyer wise, I find these smaller ships easier to play and enjoy using the stealth to sneak up on unsuspecting carriers. I usually bag 2 to 3 kills a game this way and got almost 90k damage with a T5 japanese destroyer!

The Graf Spee is much harder, hence the request for advise and tips!

Thanks

[CATS]
Players
26,026 posts
14,064 battles

She is a hard ship for new players.

She has only two turrets and low rate of fire. You need to make every shot count and for that you need good aim.

• She is not stealthy, therefore stay behind your DD
  • Use islands to block line of sight to enemy BB
  • She is tough and can tank DD and cruiser guns, but do not show broadside to heavy cruisers
  • Her guns are great vs cruiser, focus them
  • Islands allow to make torp ambushes

I suggest to play german cruisers from Tier II to V in random to learn aiming and manoeuvre with them.

• Cool 3

Players
853 posts
907 battles
1 hour ago, natswright said:

Its a tricky ship to learn and as it has Torpedos, I find myself using it like a big destroyer

Read Colonel Pete advice above which is highly accurate. The GS is not a big Destroyer nor should you be thinking first of its torping ability.

The GS guns are it's raison d'etre, although slow reloading. I think the GS can shoot up virtually anything (DDs, Ca/CLs, BBs & ofc CVs , lol).

I would add that you will need to consider switching between HE & AP as the targets change. You also need to maneuver very well for your GS to be effective/survive.

• Cool 1

[WITCH]
Players
139 posts
4,388 battles
1 hour ago, ColonelPete said:

She is a hard ship for new players.