You need to play a total of 1 battles to post in this section.
Anymn

Trying to learn modding by using unbound

2 comments in this topic

[RHPA]
Beta Tester
36 posts
2,220 battles

I love World of Warships, and would love to enlarge the fun I have to it. However, more and more often I'm not entering a battle as I get 'scared away' from the cluttered Port UI. Being a developer, my thought is: let's write a mod for this!  However, I get stuck and would love to receive some help.

What do I try to achieve:

• Remove Notification icons that tell me when there is news. (I already use a RSS feed for the wows website, no need to see it in-game)
  • Remove info text in Commander Skills menu

• Remove 'Premium Benefits' info text in Module Screen menu

• Hide Mission, Lootboxes, Campaign buttons in the Port UI. Only when I hover my mouse close to the left-screen border, those will show up.

Now, I will try to do this in the order as presented, as this would be a nice learning curve for me as well. Undoubtedly, the last item will be the hardest.

What did I find out:

I started reading the Modding Sections of this forum, and Unpacked the WoWs files with the tool. I found out that I'll need to edit some stuff into gui/unbound/dock.xml, most likely the icon_sticker_new as this most likely is the notification icon.

I also found the Unbound How-to, and trying to following this guide. 

Where did I get stuck:

I'm unable to perform the compilation process as shortly described here:

Spoiler

Please note!

To have changes made to the XML file displayed in the game client, you need to assemble an SWF file https://forum.worldofwarships.ru/topic/51786-правка-unbound-xml/, put it in “World_of_Warships\res_mods\<game_version>\gui\flash”, put USSExpressionsLoader.xml next to it with the path to the SWF file added to it, put the updated XML file in “World_of_Warships\res_mods\<game_version>\gui\unbound” and start the game. We assemble the SWF file again after every change.