Sign in to follow this  
Lea_Flamma

Cruisers - How to?

21 comments in this topic

Players
77 posts
1,978 battles

Hi y'all!

You have been terriffic at helping me so far, so here I am once more!

I started developing into Cruisers, giving my beloved Akatsuki some rest time. Well overall I started playing something more than just IJN ships overall, trying to push the other nations a bit up the tiers, but Cruisers are my main focus now. And I must say, I encountered some problems, when playing with the higher tier IJN and USN ships. The two I have played the most recently are Atlanta and Myoko. And I must admit, I find myself not fully able to grasp, what I am to do in this class of a ship.

On a first glance, Atlanta seemed like a great DD support ship. I push with the DD, provide it with AA fire thanks to the infinite defensive consumable while flushing out enemy DDs from smoke with Radar. The firepower is great for melting DDs, the reload and amount of HE shells is just on another level. But... I have a few problems with the ship when played like that.

- I find myself either on the wrong side of an island, with a lot of AP shells coming my way.

- I find myself on the right side of an island, unable to support the DD properly.

- The guns are great, but their range is terrible, meaning I have to get up close and personal to ships I would definitely want to keep my distance from.

- AP is nonexistant, I only ever use it when facing other Light Cruisers, otherwise I fail to pen anything.

- Torpedoes are... Okay? You have to be super close and personal for them, which is a death sentance most of the time.

- I feel like I fail to support the team properly. Most of the games I hand at some 15-40k damage done, just because most ships are outside of my range.