Sign in to follow this  
Mechthart

CV tips for an old-fart-newbie

5 comments in this topic

Players
20 posts
14,922 battles

Hello fellow captains,

not really a newbie here, but I started my career as a CV captain more or less 2 days ago and cannot figure out some issues... so maybe the experienced air jockeys can give me a hand here:

1. If I strike with my US DB squadrons and really want to do just a single pass in order to conserve planes, do I press RTB right after the strike or do I fly out my bombers manually? Any benefit to that? (Evading flak, taking a more optimal route away from AA ships...)

2. Is it just me or is the pre-strike aiming reticle of the Midway's rocket planes (Tiny Tims... will change that, unreliable stuff) a bit too far out? About half a second to a second at normal flight speed? On the Langley and the Ranger those were more or less spot on, but I tend to overshoot a bit in the Midway's fighters...

3. I think I will figure that one out with experience, but: Does accelerating and decelerating still work while in a strike animation? I think it does for the RFs and TBs, but what about the divebombers? Can I slightly adjust my reticle when reaching up and diving down to strike? In the direction of my flight axis, not perpendicular to it ( that obviously works....)?

Thanks in advance,

CV newbie Mechthart out

[ADRIA]
[ADRIA]
Players
4,945 posts
7,160 battles
1 hour ago, Mechthart said:

1. If I strike with my US DB squadrons and really want to do just a single pass in order to conserve planes, do I press RTB right after the strike or do I fly out my bombers manually? Any benefit to that? (Evading flak, taking a more optimal route away from AA ships...)

If you mean pressing F to return your aircraft before they drop you should always do that outside of enemy AA

I started my career as a CV captain more or less 2 days ago

Midway's

I think I see your problem. Question - can you see it from those 2 quotes?