SirDankII

Ship just gets obliterated?

23 comments in this topic

Question

Players
4 posts
72 battles

Hello,

Im new to world of warships. I played world of tanks for quite some time so i'm not completely unfamiliar to the mechanics. But ive reach tier 5 on the British Cruiser line, and every time i jump into a game, i get put up against tier 6 ships, which is fine except i seem to take one hit and lose about half of my HP instantly. Its not a torpedo, i have been watching out for them. What is it and how do i prevent it?

22 answers to this question

WG Team, WoWs Wiki Team
3,499 posts
12,541 battles

It's most likely a citadel hit. You can view your ship's armor in port. The citadel is the area of a ship where enemy shells do full damage, that can be over 10k for one battleship AP shell.

The British cruisers have some of the most vulnerable citadels in the whole game. That makes them very hard for new players. They get heal and later smoke to make up for it, but you have to be really careful with them.

The usual tactic to avoid hits to your citadel is to angle your ship and don't go broadside, so your side armor is more effective. Unfortunately, the Emerald doesn't have any :Smile_trollface:

In your case you have to make sure to not get hit at all, especially from battleships. Try to use cover from islands or smoke screens. Ask some friendly destroyer players to set smokes for you.

[ADRIA]
Players
4,945 posts
7,657 battles
19 minutes ago, SirDankII said:

I played world of tanks for quite some time so i'm not completely unfamiliar to the mechanics

2 very different games. Knowing one doesn't mean much for the other

19 minutes ago, SirDankII said:

tier 5 on the British Cruiser line

RN CLs is probably the worst line to start off on, it's the least newbie-friendly experience you can find out there. And the t5 is infamous for being kinda bad

21 minutes ago, SirDankII said:

i seem to take one hit and lose about half of my HP instantly