Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Clean

Spotting and XP

31 comments in this topic

[FIFO]
Players
7 posts
3,590 battles

I'm new to the game. I've played mainly Tanks and a bit of Planes.

In Tanks you get rewarded for spotting towards gun marks and XP. Spotting is a really valuable team tactic and I try to do this with my DD's in particular. I have had relatively high spot games at tier 4, 5 and 6 0f 30k-50k and still been in the bottom of the team sheet.

Is this a known issue and will be addressed? Like I say I am new but it irks me that I unselfishly provide team support and do not get rewarded. The scoreboard should reflect good play.

Any comments?

Players
4,608 posts
8,081 battles

It's not an issue, it's working as intended (whether that intent is good is a different matter ofcourse). Spotting does get rewarded, just not as much as you're used to from Tanks.

[NWP]
Players
6,856 posts
7,643 battles

I agree, thats the way it should be.

That being said, WG does only focus on damage sadly.

So spotting is nice for winning games, but you dont get the rewards for that. Your teammates do for dealing damage.

• Cool 2

Players
562 posts
9,380 battles

Here's something for you:

Go to Settings > Controls and tick the box "Counter for damage upon your spotting" bottom-right.

For me this value is always quite low, like a 3-5k, so even though you can be the first to spot an enemy ship and get a ribbon the counter never clocks up.

I'm only guessing but it might be for indirect damage, i.e. if your team mate has direct line of sight then it doesn't count. Would be nice if a good player could clarify the mechanism for us?

Edit: so I did my own research for my own curiosity as well. Found this: