Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
ForlornSailor

Did ramming always work like this?

11 comments in this topic

Players
3,110 posts
5,446 battles

Now im not an expert in ramming, I usualy dont resort to that tactic. But in my opinion - I should have been dead here? No ramming flag was involved.

I have no idea why I gave him more damage then I took.

Spoiler

shot-18_11.16_23_42.06-0569.thumb.jpg.4e3830a078ecdf0a7a1dc19be93010d5.jpg

[JRM]
Players
825 posts
12,808 battles

I think the damage given and recieved depends on your ship total hp dont know the formula and that flag definetly modifes it but its not even that rare to survive the ram itself usually its flooding that gets you

[DSW]
Players
3,715 posts
7,542 battles

kinda wonky for sure, but a) very low impact speed, b) he was moving away from you and c) he was going pretty damn slow to begin with. All three of these seem to contribute to low-damage rams in one way or another...

• Cool 1

Alpha Tester
1,802 posts
4,721 battles

Here you go:

Speed

Speed is the factor which determines the level of damage inflicted to another ship. To ensure the maximum amount of damage is caused to an enemy ship, collisions must be achieved at the highest speed possible. High-speed collisions immediately inflict a high level of damage to both involved ships. These types of collisions typically result in the destruction of one or both of the involved ships. In contrast, Low-speed collisions do not inflict a high level of damage. Instead, a lowered amount of damage is inflicted to both ships during the time they contact each other. The amount of damage is dependent on the speed of impact. This type of collision is not common because it only occurs when the combined collision speed is very low, between 0 and 5 knots.

(Source)