Sign in to follow this  
Omnichr0n

Ibuki, the weakest link of IJN Cruisers?

22 comments in this topic

Players
174 posts
2,755 battles

Hello everyone!

Out from when I started playing WoWS, I quite quickly started playing the IJN cruiser line, and finally got the last ship of them all, the Zao. 
During the "grind", there were some ups and downs, where I actually loved the Furutaka (even before the hull C upgrade), hated the Aoba, loved the Mogami, and finally got the incredible ship Zao. However, on my way up the IJN line, there has been one ship that has been utter garbage for me, the Ibuki.

As everyone knows, the Ibuki is more or less the same as the Mogami, a paper ship which can't take hits and has to use islands to hide behind and kite away from enemies. The playstyle, which I have become comfortable with when I came back to the game around summer, has given me great games in ships like Mogami, Yorck, Hipper, the french cruiser line and so on. However, I never got any of my cruiser tactics to work with the Ibuki.

At the first 12 Ibuki games, I was incredibly unlucky by getting cyclones/storms in 6 of the matches (yeah, 50% cyclones!), which gave me a rather poor introduction to the ship (as I needed to get closer in engagements to help out the team, and then you are oneshot for absolutely every BB in the game, no matter the angle you have). In the other 6 games without the storms, I had rounds with around 70k-100k  dmg done and thought that the ship seemed decent enough (although I died quite often whenever anything shot at me).