Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Lord0

IFHE for Gearing?

15 comments in this topic

[ANV]
[ANV]
Players
160 posts

So, 

IFHE for Gearing? Yes or no and explanation of your decision please.

Players
277 posts
3,410 battles

I have little experience in the Gearing, but I would say no, due to having so many other more useful skills.

• Cool 1

[AAO]
Players
396 posts
6,939 battles

No it doesnt allow pass of any armor tresh holds, only calibers that benefit are 152-155mm, ijn 100mm DD and upcoming british DDs 113-114mm guns. 

152-155 allow penetrating 32mm plating same goes for IJN 100mm since it has 1/4 pen rule, british high tier that use sub 120mm guns need itnto penetrate even DD 19mm plating. 

• Cool 1

Quality Poster
2,953 posts
7,938 battles

1. Bonus from IFEH: Gearing has 127mm guns that can penetrate 1/6 of it's caliber without IFHE. That is: 20mm. With IFHE this value increases up to 27mm. So not enough to penetrate the 32mm armour that is present on most ships she can meet.

2. Which skill would you drop for IFHE anyways?

[SCRUB]
[SCRUB]
Beta Tester
1,236 posts
7,080 battles

No.

Gearings normal HE pen is plenty enough for what it's supposed to do as explained by others above.

My Gearing Bulild if you are interested is:

1: Preventive Maint.

2: Adrenaline Rush + Last Stand

3:  BFT + Survival Expert

4: Concealment Ex. + RDF

I play it as an offensive DD hunter which work perfectly well from my experience. Lately Gearing got Powercreeped by Yueyang Z52 with buffed Hydro and Harugomo for that role though.

tl,dr: It just gives no benefit while you have to give up a useful skill (CE or RDF in case of my build).

[CATS]
Players
13,678 posts
10,389 battles

The 127mm would profit from IFHE, but the main targets of your guns are DD and there it does not really make a difference.