Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
1MajorKoenig

Asashio - fun ship but... can we change on or two things...?

62 comments in this topic

[DREAD]
Players
5,122 posts
5,069 battles

Dear fellow sailors,

I would like to open another discussion on ASASHIO, the T8 premium IJN DD.

There was a lot of fear the ship would be breaking the meta and would only promote selfish damage farming gameplay. Not sure what the numbers say on the larger scale whether that happens but for me the opposite is true. I started playing her a lot more Team focussed than any other DD. Point is, you can't fight DDs alone so you Need to cooridnate with your cruisers. You can't fight CL/CAs at all so you Need to coordinate with your BBs (and CL/CAs again). A lot of times you are only spotting and capping and working for the fleet to Support you until you can actually attack yourself. Well sometimes you can attack slow BBs far back which is fun but usually for the later part of the game - save some lucky shots into spawn or the way from spawn to frontline.

My Problem though is that the gameplay is in my opinion a Little TOO limiting / restrictive. Especially with all the cruisers in the current meta it sometimes feels a bit odd to Scout and cap only without being able to fight until late.

Hence my request would be to add a TAD versatility to the ship without removing it's unique character entirely - through one of the following Options:

1. Add an in-battle Setting to your torpedoes to Change their Settings from 20km DW against BB/CV only and a more universal Setting against all classes with less range (eg. 10-12km) - just to be able to fight other classes as well
  2. Or - add cruisers to the menu of her 20km torpedoes