hedgehog_s

Ships to keep or ships that are just slightly OP ??

19 comments in this topic

[-NO-]
Players
26 posts
4,218 battles

Hi all,

Im new to WoW and compared to WoT I find it much more "friendly" - Im having good results with guns, bad with torps but I am wondering what ships are "known" to be keepers or slightly OP. Ive ket the Orlan from Tier 1, I love the wickes and most of the battleships except their tortoise speed. I hate the Friant and Caledon - am I in the right ballpark with these choices or am I mad ?? I have tier 4 max at the moment and intend to research every ship as I go.

Thanks

[W-C]
Beta Tester, Players, In AlfaTesters
2,223 posts
5,868 battles

I'll be ignoring ships from tier 8 and up since you're a beginner, but for me personally the non premium/non event ships that I consider to be really good are:

• Clemson = The little monster that can fire 6 guns at a target at tier 4 can outgun just about anything it meets, plus it has preferential matchmaking.
  • Kongo = A fast battlecruiser with massive range for its tier and decent accuracy.
  • Myoko = A heavy hitting cruiser with quite decent armor actually
  • Mahan = An all around good gunboat

Also yeah, I suggest you steer clear of any british ships until you gather some more battles. Their cruisers are a pain in the butt to learn, so they aren't really beginner friendly, while their battleships tend to teach you the wrong playstyle if you choose them as your first full line.

[CATS]
Players
13,610 posts
10,385 battles
  • Keep ships you like
  • Ships below Tier V usually do not count for missions
  • For Tier V upwards it is good to have a BB, a ship that is good at starting fires, a ship with fast firing guns, a torpedoboat and a CV
  • Cool 2

[B0TS]
[B0TS]
Players
152 posts
4,301 battles

Ijn dd main line: Sold everything on my way to Tier 10 Shimakaze. That doesnt mean they are bad though.
Ijn dd alt line:Kept t7 Shiratsuyu,t8 Akizuki and will also keep tier 10 Harugumo.