Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
BrettMRC

New monitor....why can't I hit anything?

17 comments in this topic

[TIDES]
Players
75 posts
3,265 battles

I did a big PC upgrade a few weeks ago, since then I'm finding it really hard to hit targets - especially with BBs.

It can't just be RNG, I'm not the best player of WOWS - but I'm not this crap either...

Surely the timing marks on the interface, along with learnt adjustments per ship should be the same regardless of resolution?

Players
978 posts
5,904 battles
12 minutes ago, BrettMRC said:

Surely the timing marks on the interface, along with learnt adjustments per ship should be the same regardless of resolution?

They are, but I never used this method after the early days when I was a noob trying to learn BB's. Aiming should be automatic.

What resolution and aspect ratio? New monitor resolution can throw you off, because everything seems smaller. I suggest practice with fast firing ships like cruisers so that you can get your aim back. Also install the Navigator mod from Aslains mod pack, it helps you determine how the enemy is angled and if he is turning or not. What also helps is firing your BB turrets one by one so you get a bit more feel for how far your aim is off.

Players
152 posts
4,302 battles

I will assume you are using a static croshair and you increased your screen resolution from lets say 1680 to 1920.
If i am not mistaken you need to retrain yourself how to aim now.
An easy way would be to enter training, fill it with moving but not shooting bots, grab something that you are confident you can hit ships in it and train for a while there.

Otherwise, if you are using a dynamic croshair and you know max speed of ships and can also figure out their moving speed from their smoke stacks its probably just bad luck.

Have you tried reverting back to the old screen analysis just to compare your hit rate %?