Sign in to follow this  
Ricox

Where to even start?

8 comments in this topic

Players
1 post

Hi. I'm new to this game and have played World of Tanks & War Thunder before. Just started playing the game and I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the ship options. Is there a guide that points to best classes and best ship lines for specific types of play style? I haven't found mine yet, but even if I do - it's quite hard to know what ships it translates to (specifically nation lines, not just the class). I'm leaning towards battleships for the firepower, but I'm also looking to know which battleship line is suited for what type of players. Does anything of the sort exist?

Thanks in advance.

[ADRIA]
[ADRIA]
Players
5,061 posts
8,562 battles

Pretty much just have to look through stuff like YouTube and Twitch for those.

Just search for some lines / specific ships in those lines, there surely will be some good stuff somewhere.

Also you can ask questions here in Forums - usually you don't have to wait too long for answers

With BBs - some are more tanky, others less so, almost all of them are slow in comparison to other ships, they turn like bricks and the average accuracy is so nice that you couldn't hit a barn from the inside. But whenever you finally do score that hit... well, most of the time it's a rather disappointing overpenetration. And then, every now and then a cruiser will just go boom and disappear from full health to nothing making all the frustration worth it.

Best BB lines for newbies? Those would be German and Japanese. Germans have much more fool-proof armour and often run a rather fun close range secondary build ("close range" lol) which lets you glance over the rather terrible accuracy of their main guns, while Japanese tend to be a bit faster than average (not always) and noticeably more accurate while sacrificing some armour and almost all AA protection. At least up to tier 8, as 9 and 10 are quite different from the rest of the line.