Jump to content
You need to play a total of 50 battles to post in this section.
Excavatus

I Want My Right Click BACK!

22 comments in this topic

Recommended Posts

[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles

Why on earth I still cannot remap the right mouse button??

I really want to know.. Why?? Why I can change a lot of key mappings.. but no to the right and left mouse buttons?

Why WG.. ?

 

Really.. Since a couple updates back, (the one which fecked up the division screen)

Now it is impossible to remap the mouse buttons.

 

I've even asked it to the support If there is a way that I didn't know, they only answered me,

Sorry it is impossible to remap the mouse buttons. They are fixed.

 

Just WHY!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Beta Tester
1,649 posts
8,138 battles

If WG fixes things.... they either just fix it by some miracle or screw it up beyond repair.

It's like they say if we can't fix it we rather break it.

And sometimes they "fix" things that don't need fixing.... Renember the Tirpitz secoundary buff? or the clanchat you mentioned? or the Yubari AA nerf? or the Narai operation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[HOO]
Players
1,885 posts
3,704 battles

I'm pretty sure, watching Flamu on Twitch yesterday, he has his right mouse button mapped for AP shell selection.

 

So it must still be possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[HOO]
Players
2,191 posts
12 minutes ago, Fat_Maniac said:

I'm pretty sure, watching Flamu on Twitch yesterday, he has his right mouse button mapped for AP shell selection.

 

So it must still be possible.

That's middle mouse button he has mapped to AP, I'd call you an old git for misreading, but we both know that's kettle calling the pot dirty arsed :cap_like:.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[HOO]
Players
1,885 posts
3,704 battles
5 minutes ago, BeauNidl3 said:

That's middle mouse button he has mapped to AP, I'd call you an old git for misreading, but we both know that's kettle calling the pot dirty arsed :cap_like:.

DOH ! Good job I'm going to get my eyes tested again soon then :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles

My point is..

I just want to hear or read one single shred of logical explanation about why they did made that change?

 

 

@MrConway little help here mate.. just ask them please..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[HOO]
Players
1,885 posts
3,704 battles

Maybe they have taken the RMB away so they can use it for something special later. Carrier rework for example 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[BLITZ]
Players
2,819 posts
10,972 battles

@Excavatus

I'm able to remap both right and left mouse button.

Sometimes I have to try like five times, but It works in the end.

Which function are you trying to map to which key?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles
5 minutes ago, SeeteufeI said:

@Excavatus

I'm able to remap both right and left mouse button.

Sometimes I have to try like five times, but It works in the end.

Which function are you trying to map to which key?

I am trying to put my sniper zoom back on right mouse button..

Try it.. and you'll see you will fail..

 

On the other hand,

this is the response I've got from the suppor..


Dear Excavatus,

Thank you for contacting Wargaming.net Customer Support Department. 

Unfortunately the right mouse button have been reserved for the attack. You have to use the mouse to shoot with missiles and this cannot be changed. Other buttons can be changed but not the mouse ones. 

Sorry for the inconvenient that it might cause but I hope you will get used to it. 

If you have any other questions, feel free to contact us!
Wish you luck at the sea!
Kind Regards,

 

PS: @MrConway would you like to comment on the bolded part :) as a WowS offical... Shooting missiles? with right mouse button? in WOWs?... Really =???


 

I've asked for a reason after this response..

and got this :)


Hello Excavatus,
Thank you for contacting the Wargaming customer support department again.

The developers approve all of the changes that are made within the game, they see a long-term purpose that will only elevate the quality of our game. As you may find is useless, be patient, we always have something up our sleeve. 

Remember that our developers are constantly working on the standard of our game, please give your feedback to the forum, so that we can work on it.

Hope you understand, have a joyful day!

If you need any further assistance, don't hesitate to contact us back.
Kind regards,   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[HOO]
Players
1,885 posts
3,704 battles

I remember Sub_Oct saying a few months ago in an interview, that as part of 'internal testing' and prototyping they did bring missles into the game to see if they could make them work. Apparently they were alot of fun but totally unsuitable for WoWS.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Beta Tester
1,649 posts
8,138 battles

in other words "stop asking, it is as I say so gtfo"

I am pretty sure the missles part was a guy either still half asleep or out to troll you.

 

Isn't the right mousebutton reserved for the "look-around view"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[BLITZ]
Players
2,819 posts
10,972 battles
18 minutes ago, Excavatus said:

I am trying to put my sniper zoom back on right mouse button..

Are we talking about Artillery Camera?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Players
4,389 posts
12,087 battles

I see an option in the settings: "alternative mouse controls" in the control panel. Maybe that's the trick?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Beta Tester
22 posts
11,971 battles
23 minutes ago, Excavatus said:

Unfortunately the right mouse button have been reserved for the attack. You have to use the mouse to shoot with missiles and this cannot be changed. Other buttons can be changed but not the mouse ones. 

...

 

PS: @MrConway would you like to comment on the bolded part :) as a WowS offical... Shooting missiles? with right mouse button? in WOWs?... Really =???

 

Well, a missile can be many things, even a thrown stone is a missile by definition, but really funny/sad is that the gal/guy wants to tell you that the RMB is reserved for the attack  :cap_haloween:

 

By my own experience you have to ask the support several times and then still have to hope that the answer could be right...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[BLITZ]
Players
2,819 posts
10,972 battles

You can use following workaround:

 

1. In the game settings change "Artillery Camera" to any unassigned key, apply and close the game

2. In "World_of_Warships\preferences.xml" change

     

<CMD_ART_CAMERA
		context="battle"
		type="forceTap">
	<VALUE
			key="any_unassigned_key"
			mods=""
			index="0" />
</CMD_ART_CAMERA>

to

 
<CMD_ART_CAMERA
		context="battle"
		type="forceTap">
	<VALUE
			key="KEY_RIGHTMOUSE"
			mods=""
			index="0" />
</CMD_ART_CAMERA>

(Take care "KEY_RIGHTMOUSE" is only assigned once)

3. Save "preferences.xml" and start World of Warships again

 

That should do the trick. :fish_book:

It's working for any key and command, you just need to find out the name for each one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles
13 minutes ago, SeeteufeI said:

You can use following workaround:

 

1. In the game settings change "Artillery Camera" to any unassigned key, apply and close the game

2. In "World_of_Warships\preferences.xml" change

     


<CMD_ART_CAMERA
		context="battle"
		type="forceTap">
	<VALUE
			key="any_unassigned_key"
			mods=""
			index="0" />
</CMD_ART_CAMERA>

to

 

<CMD_ART_CAMERA
		context="battle"
		type="forceTap">
	<VALUE
			key="KEY_RIGHTMOUSE"
			mods=""
			index="0" />
</CMD_ART_CAMERA>

(Take care "KEY_RIGHTMOUSE" is only assigned once)

3. Save "preferences.xml" and start World of Warships again

 

That should do the trick. :fish_book:

It's working for any key and command, you just need to find out the name for each one.

If this works (I assume you know what you doing!)

You will have a free kill in the next battle I see you mate!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[BLITZ]
Players
2,819 posts
10,972 battles
5 minutes ago, Excavatus said:

If this works (I assume you know what you doing!)

I hope so, for me it worked.

Let me know... :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[WG]
WG Staff, Alpha Tester
3,274 posts
3,518 battles
On 5/11/2018 at 11:26 AM, Excavatus said:

My point is..

I just want to hear or read one single shred of logical explanation about why they did made that change?

 

 

@MrConway little help here mate.. just ask them please..

 

I am not sure why, but I can try to find out.

 

In the meantime, the workaround posted by the awesome @Seeteufel looks promising :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[R3B3L]
Players
870 posts
29,051 battles
On 5/11/2018 at 1:00 PM, Excavatus said:

I am trying to put my sniper zoom back on right mouse button..

not sure if i understood you right but maybe this helps:

Spoiler

mouse.thumb.jpg.cb444e5659a9d8041fbfe286beabe183.jpg

This is the keybinding of my mouse. It looks like all buttons except LMB/RMB can be allocated freely. If your mouse has some extra buttons, you can try to put the functions there.

 

 

EDIT: eeerm, Side button1 should mean "Artillery camera"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles
On 11/05/2018 at 3:53 PM, SeeteufeI said:

I hope so, for me it worked.

Let me know... :)

 

On 12/05/2018 at 6:07 PM, MrConway said:

 

I am not sure why, but I can try to find out.

 

In the meantime, the workaround posted by the awesome @Seeteufel looks promising :)

 

First of all,

The plan worked,

Now I can make RMB for artillery camera,

but one wierd thing though,

If I  change anything on the settings in game. even adjusting the volume and clicking apply or done!

 

my RMB allocation gets deleted. and I have to close the game and change the preferences file again.

I don't know why... but unless I do not change any setting.. it works perfectly..

 

So, @MrConway, If you can find the reason behind it, My inner engineer would be so grateful. But my personal problem seems partly solved.

and Mr. @SeeteufeI thank you. I will keep my promise. the next time I see you in game, I will give you a coordinate to give you a free kill.. towards the end of the match :)

 

On 12/05/2018 at 7:19 PM, drmajga said:

not sure if i understood you right but maybe this helps:

  Reveal hidden contents

mouse.thumb.jpg.cb444e5659a9d8041fbfe286beabe183.jpg

This is the keybinding of my mouse. It looks like all buttons except LMB/RMB can be allocated freely. If your mouse has some extra buttons, you can try to put the functions there.

 

 

EDIT: eeerm, Side button1 should mean "Artillery camera"

 

Yes, only the LMB and RMB cannot be allocated, and I am pissed of because of that.

Just want to know the deep great plan behind that decision :)

 

  • Cool 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Modder
4,872 posts
22,135 battles
20 godzin temu, Excavatus napisał:

my RMB allocation gets deleted. and I have to close the game and change the preferences file again.

I don't know why... but unless I do not change any setting.. it works perfectly..

Changes done in /command_mapping/preset_keyboard_1.xml are permanent. You can assign/correct almost any key here. Unpack file from /res_packages directory, copy to mods and edit here.

  • Cool 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[THESO]
[THESO]
Moderator
3,750 posts
10,229 battles
9 hours ago, Odo_Toothless said:

Changes done in /command_mapping/preset_keyboard_1.xml are permanent. You can assign/correct almost any key here. Unpacke file from /res_packages directory, copy to mods and edit here.

Thank you mate!

I will try that...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×