10ThousandThings

Some BB questions

16 comments in this topic

Question

Players
466 posts
1,698 battles

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to WOWS and I'm trying to learn and improve in randoms, having initially got to tier 5 on a few lines, realised I didn't know what I was doing, and spent a while mainly playing co-op at T5 while practising a bit more in PvP at T3 and (mainly) T4. This thread isn't intended to cover all the things I know I need to improve (there are too many for one thread, and I've found lots of helpful advice for many of them on other threads). But there are a few specific things I've been wondering about recently.

I've been playing more BBs than previously – as my least-played class apart from CVs,* I figured it would be helpful for learning more about the game – and I dont really feel like I'm 'getting it' somehow. I think that's mainly about needing to plan further ahead to identify good positions/strategies and then not being able to reposition easily when I get that wrong. (Weirdly WTR says BBs are my best class; I put that down to having played less of them back when I was totally rather than moderately clueless). I imagine that planning etc mainly comes with experience – I've binge-watched lots of Flamu's commentaries and replay analyses and iChase's Captain Academy vids, but applying the principles is a learning curve – but any tips would be gratefully received. Apart from that I did have a few more specific questions, and it would be great if somone's able to help.

1) I've got into the habit of using my heal to absorb damage from one or two fires, instead of using the damage control party. But is that a sensible tactic, especially if I'm still under HE fire?

2) Which of the one-point captain skills would experienced players recommend? I'm torn between PT, EL and PM.